Mobile Menu

Call today at

Child Endangerment

To be charged with child endangerment, you must have done at least one of the following to either someone under 18 or someone with mental or physical disabilities under the age of 29:

  • Created a substantial risk to their health or safety
  • Abused them
  • Tortured or cruelly abused them
  • Used excessive physical punishment that created a risk of serious physical harm, such as tying down a child in a cruel manner or for a prolonged period
  • Repeatedly punished a child arbitrarily when there is a risk that these punishments will delay the child’s mental health or development
  • Knowingly volunteered them to be in child pornography
  • Let them live on a piece of property where drugs are manufactured
  • Drove under the influence of alcohol or drugs with them in the vehicle
Every day in central Ohio people are charged with child endangerment. Child endangerment charges can range from a first-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 180 days in jail to a second-degree felony, punishable up to 8 years prison.

If you are convicted of child endangerment, additional potential issues include:

  • Maintaining your current employment
  • Licensure issues in some professions
  • Difficulty getting a good job in the future
  • Difficulty and possible denial in immigration and naturalization proceedings
Simply put, if you are convicted of child endangerment, it could remain on your criminal background for the rest of your life. No matter what the circumstances were in your case, you run the risk of being considered someone who endangered a child. Therefore, it is critical that you to give your child endangerment charge the level of importance it deserves.

The Columbus Criminal Defense team takes an aggressive approach in defending clients charged with child endangerment. We will figure out what mistakes the police or detectives made and what other legal issues can be raised on your behalf.

We do this by requesting discovery from the prosecutor and interviewing witnesses. The discovery will generally consist of police reports, additional investigative notes, pictures and recorded interviews. As our client, you will receive a copy of everything received from the prosecutor for your review.

Based on the legal weaknesses in the State of Ohio’s case and any other mitigating factors, we will negotiate the best possible plea available with the prosecutor for you to consider in resolving your case.

If your case cannot be resolved satisfactorily with a plea, it would then proceed to a motion hearing (a hearing where the judge issues a ruling on an evidentiary issue) or a trial to the judge or jury, depending on the circumstances.

For nearly ten years, the Columbus Criminal Defense team has successfully represented clients on child endangerment charges. That extensive previous experience will enable us to better help you.

Contact us today!

Are you in trouble? Contact us.

If you’ve been charged with child endangerment, it’s important to know what you’re up against. If you have any questions left unanswered by this page, or if you need a competent, experienced child endangerment attorney to fight for you in court, please contact us at or via email at advice@columbuscriminalattorney.com.

Created a substantial risk to their health or safety

This is a misdemeanor of the first degree and carries the following penalties:
  • A jail sentence of up to 180 days
    • In its place, your judge may sentence you to probation or other community control punishments
    • You may be required to perform up to 200 hours of community service after your jail term
  • At most, a fine of $1,000
This is a felony of the fourth degree and carries the following penalties:
  • A prison term of six to 18 months
    • In its place, your judge may sentence you to probation or other community control punishments
    • You may be required to perform up to 200 hours of community service after your jail term
  • At most, a fine of $5,000
This is a felony of the third degree and carries the following penalties:
  • A prison term of nine months to three years
    • You may be required to perform up to 200 hours of community service after your jail term
  • A fine of $5,000 to $10,000

Abused the child

This is a misdemeanor of the first degree and carries the following penalties:
  • A jail sentence of up to 180 days
    • In its place, your judge may sentence you to probation or other community control punishments
    • You may be required to perform up to 200 hours of community service after your jail term
  • At most, a fine of $1,000
This is a felony of the fourth degree and carries the following penalties:
  • A prison term of six to 18 months
    • In its place, your judge may sentence you to probation or other community control punishments
    • You may be required to perform up to 200 hours of community service after your jail term
  • At most, a fine of $5,000
This is a felony of the fourth degree and carries the following penalties:
  • A mandatory prison term of 18 months
    • You may be required to perform up to 200 hours of community service after your prison term
  • At most, a fine of $5,000
  • Restitution to the victim for their housing, counseling and medical and legal assistance along with whichever of the following is more:
    • The gross income or value to the offender of the victim’s labor or services
    • The value of the victim’s labor if they were paid minimum wage
This is a felony of the second degree and carries the following penalties:
  • A prison term of two to eight years
    • You may be required to perform up to 200 hours of community service after your jail term
  • A fine of $7,500 to $15,000
This is a felony of the second degree and carries the following penalties:
  • A mandatory prison term of three to eight years
    • You may be required to perform up to 200 hours of community service after your prison term
  • A fine of $7,500 to $15,000
  • Restitution to the victim for their housing, counseling and medical and legal assistance along with whichever of the following is more:
    • The gross income or value to the offender of the victim’s labor or services
    • The value of the victim’s labor if they were paid minimum wage

Knowingly volunteered them to be in child pornography

This is a felony of the second degree and carries the following penalties:
  • A prison term of two to eight years
    • You may be required to perform up to 200 hours of community service after your jail term
  • A fine of $7,500 to $15,000
This is a felony of the second degree and carries the following penalties:
  • A mandatory prison term of three to eight years
    • You may be required to perform up to 200 hours of community service after your prison term
  • A fine of $7,500 to $15,000
  • Restitution to the victim for their housing, counseling and medical and legal assistance along with whichever of the following is more:
    • The gross income or value to the offender of the victim’s labor or services
    • The value of the victim’s labor if they were paid minimum wage

Let them live on a piece of property where drugs are manufactured

This is a felony of the third degree and carries with it the following penalties:
  • A prison term of nine months to three years
    • You may be required to perform up to 200 hours of community service after your jail term
    • If the drug being manufactured was methamphetamine, you will face a prison term of two to three years
      • If you had a previous conviction for this, manufacturing drugs or assembly or possession of chemicals for drugs, the prison term will be five years
  • A fine of $5,000 to $10,000
This is a felony of the third degree and carries the following penalties:
  • A mandatory prison term of three years
    • You may be required to perform up to 200 hours of community service after your jail term
    • If you had a previous conviction for this, manufacturing drugs or assembly or possession of chemicals for drugs, the prison term will be five years
  • A fine of $5,000 to $10,000
  • Restitution to the victim for their housing, counseling and medical and legal assistance along with whichever of the following is more:
    • The gross income or value to the offender of the victim’s labor or services
    • The value of the victim’s labor if they were paid minimum wage
This is a felony of the second degree and carries the following penalties:
  • A prison term of two to eight years
    • You may be required to perform up to 200 hours of community service after your jail term
    • If the drug being manufactured was methamphetamine, you will face a prison term of three to eight years
      • If you had a previous conviction for this, manufacturing drugs or assembly or possession of chemicals for drugs, the prison term will be five to eight years
  • A fine of $7,500 to $15,000
This is a felony of the second degree and carries the following penalties:
  • A mandatory prison term of three to eight years
    • You may be required to perform up to 200 hours of community service after your prison term
    • If the drug being manufactured was methamphetamine, you will face a prison term of three to eight years
      • If you had a previous conviction for this, manufacturing drugs or assembly or possession of chemicals for drugs, the prison term will be five to eight years
  • A fine of $7,500 to $15,000
  • Restitution to the victim for their housing, counseling and medical and legal assistance along with whichever of the following is more:
    • The gross income or value to the offender of the victim’s labor or services
    • The value of the victim’s labor if they were paid minimum wage

Drove under the influence of alcohol or drugs with them in the vehicle

This is a misdemeanor of the first degree and carries the following penalties:
  • A jail sentence of up to 180 days
    • In its place, your judge may sentence you to probation or other community control punishments
    • You may be required to perform up to 200 hours of community service after your jail term
  • At most, a fine of $1,000
  • Possible suspension of your driver’s license for up to one year
This is a felony of the fifth degree and carries the following penalties:
  • A prison term of six months to one year
    • In its place, your judge may sentence you to probation or other community control punishments
    • You may be required to perform up to 200 hours of community service after your jail term
  • At most, a fine of $2,500
  • Possible additional suspension of your driver’s license for up to one year
This is a felony of the fourth degree and carries the following penalties:
  • A prison term of six to 18 months
    • In its place, your judge may sentence you to probation or other community control punishments
    • You may be required to perform up to 200 hours of community service after your jail term
  • At most, a fine of $5,000
  • Possible additional suspension of your driver’s license for up to one year

Everything else

If your charges weren’t covered above, it’s a felony of the third degree and carries with it the following penalties:
  • A prison term of nine months to three years
    • You may be required to perform up to 200 hours of community service after your jail term
  • A fine of $5,000 to $10,000
This is a felony of the third degree and carries the following penalties:
  • A mandatory prison term of three years
    • You may be required to perform up to 200 hours of community service after your jail term
  • A fine of $5,000 to $10,000
  • Restitution to the victim for their housing, counseling and medical and legal assistance along with whichever of the following is more:
    • The gross income or value to the offender of the victim’s labor or services
    • The value of the victim’s labor if they were paid minimum wage
This is a felony of the second degree and carries the following penalties:
  • A prison term of two to eight years
    • You may be required to perform up to 200 hours of community service after your jail term
  • A fine of $7,500 to $15,000
This is a felony of the second degree and carries the following penalties:
  • A mandatory prison term of three to eight years
    • You may be required to perform up to 200 hours of community service after your prison term
  • A fine of $7,500 to $15,000
  • Restitution to the victim for their housing, counseling and medical and legal assistance along with whichever of the following is more:
    • The gross income or value to the offender of the victim’s labor or services
    • The value of the victim’s labor if they were paid minimum wage
Have a question concerning Child Endangerment? Feel free to email us or call us and we’ll help you out.

Get In Touch

Contact Us

Luftman, Heck & Associates LLP
580 E Rich St Fl 2
Columbus, OH 43215-5335
advice@columbuscriminalattorney.com

TEL:

FAX: (614) 413-2886