Home » Columbus DUI Lawyers » First Offense DUI / OVI Charge in Columbus, OhioPractice Areas
First Offense DUI / OVI Charge in Columbus, Ohio
The first time you get charged with DUI may be the first time you ever confront the Ohio criminal justice system. You may be overwhelmed and need to make court appearances, build a case defense, and fight hard to obtain a good outcome.
Fortunately, a Columbus OVI defense lawyer near you can help you make sense of the complicated legal procedures and advocate on your behalf. If you are facing your first OVI / DUI offense in Ohio, contact us at (614) 500-3836 today.
What Can I Expect after my First DUI Conviction? | LHA
Getting arrested and charged with driving under the influence (DUI / OVI) is a stressful and uncertain experience, especially if it’s your first time. Learn what you can expect after your first DUI conviction.
What Are the Criminal Penalties of a First OVI Conviction?
If the prosecutor can demonstrate beyond a reasonable doubt that your blood alcohol content (BAC) was between .08 and .17 at the time you were driving, you will have to spend a minimum of 72 hours in jail and your whole sentence could be as long as six months. If the evidence shows that your BAC was above .17, you will receive a minimum sentence of six days.
The judge may suspend your driver’s license for up to three years, and also order you to pay fines anywhere from $375 to $1,075. Bear in mind that the fines do not include the court fees and the costs of attending a driver’s education course and obtaining a license reinstatement.
Minimum Penalties for a First DUI Offense | LHA
Facing your first DUI charge? Learn what penalities you could be facing. Remember, an experienced Columbus DUI lawyer can help you avoid the worst of these consequences.
What Are the Administrative Penalties?
When you get arrested for OVI, the police may suspend your license. This Administrative License Suspension (ALS) is separate from the license suspension that you may receive as part of your criminal sentence. Normally, the ALS lasts 90 days unless you refused to submit to a breath, blood, or urine test in which case the suspension will last one year. Note that there is no penalty for refusing a field sobriety or portable breathalyzer test.
You will need to pay $450 dollars to reinstate your license at the end of the suspension period. You will also have six points added to your license. If you can demonstrate that you have a need to drive during the suspension period, you may qualify for limited driving privileges. In this case, you will need to install an ignition interlock device to your vehicle at your own expense.
What if I’m Underage?
Ohio has strict penalties for drivers under 21 driving under the influence, who account for more than one out of 10 drunk driving fatalities. You can be charged with Underage Drinking and Driving (UDD) if there is evidence that your BAC was over .02 while you were behind the wheel. If convicted, you will face a maximum jail sentence of 30 days along with possible fines of up to $250. Your license will be suspended for 90 days, and you will have four points added to it upon its reinstatement.
How Can Your First DUI Conviction Affect Your Future?
When you’re charged with any criminal offense, you should spare no expense in hiring the best legal representation possible. If you get convicted of your first Columbus DUI offense, you’ll face fines and/or jail time, suspended driving privileges, and court costs. Furthermore, your OVI conviction will result in higher insurance premiums, and the blemish on your criminal record could affect your employment and education opportunities.
How Can a Columbus DUI Defense Lawyer Help You with Your First OVI Charge?
You may be able to avoid the harsh penalties detailed above by arming yourself with an aggressive legal advocate to defend against your first Ohio OVI offense. Every OVI case is different, but your lawyer may be able to use any of the following defense strategies:
- Fighting the prosecutor’s evidence — The prosecutor is not allowed to use evidence that was obtained in violation of your rights. In many Columbus OVI cases, the police obtain evidence against a suspect illegally. For example, the police may have pulled you over without having a reasonable suspicion that you were committing a crime, which renders any evidence obtained from that traffic stop inadmissible at trial.
- Refuting the prosecutor’s case — The prosecutor must prove every element of the case beyond a reasonable doubt. This means that if there is any doubt as to whether your BAC was above .08 when you were behind the wheel, you should receive a verdict of not guilty. Often times, the chemical test results are close enough to the legal limit that your lawyer can argue that there is a reasonable possibility that you were not under the influence at the time you were driving.
- Advocating for leniency — When the evidence against you clearly points to your guilt, sometimes it’s best to ask for leniency in your sentence. You may agree to plead guilty in exchange for the assurance of a more lenient sentence. Alternatively, you may agree to plead guilty to a lesser charge.
Contact an Attorney to Help You Overcome Your Columbus DUI / OVI First Offense
If you’ve been charged with Columbus DUI / OVI first offense, you should contact an experienced Columbus DUI lawyer nearby with Luftman, Heck, & Associates by calling (614) 500-3836. A strong defense strategy from us may protect your rights and save your future. Learn how an attorney from our law firm can help you with your first offense DUI in Columbus.