Central Ohio Court System
When facing criminal charges in Central Ohio, it is critical to know what you’re up against and to have effective legal representation from start to finish. At Luftman, Heck, & Associates LLP, our Columbus criminal defense attorneys have decades of experience assisting people in situations just like yours and we want you to have all the necessary information – no matter what allegations or charges are complicating your life.
Find my Assigned Court
Select a county below to view a list of courts and to read more about how it conducts criminal proceedings.
Why was I assigned to this court?
If you’re not sure why you were assigned one court instead of the other—for instance, Franklin County Municipal Court instead of the Dublin Mayor’s Court, a few factors usually go into this decision.
The most important factor in determining where your case is scheduled is the county where you were charged. If you are charged in Franklin County, your case will never be assigned in Delaware County and vice versa.
Another factor in determining where your case is scheduled is which jurisdiction the police officer who arrested you is employed by. Keeping with the Dublin example, if a City of Dublin police officer arrests you in Dublin, your case would likely start at the Dublin Mayor’s Court. However, if a City of Columbus police officer, Franklin County Sheriff’s deputy or Ohio State Highway Patrol trooper arrests you; your case would be scheduled in Franklin County Municipal Court.
Ohio Felony vs. Misdemeanor Sentencing
Ohio divides criminal offenses into misdemeanors and felonies, based on the maximum potential punishments. These penalties are largely determined by its severity, your prior criminal history, and any other relevant factors.
Ohio Felony Sentencing
|Degree||Prison Time||Maximum Fine|
|First Degree||3-11 Years||$20,000|
|Second Degree||2-8 Years||$10,000|
|Third Degree||9-36 Months
|Fourth Degree||6-18 Months||$5,000|
|Fifth Degree||6-12 Months||$2,500|
* Depending on type of third degree felony charge
Ohio Misdemeanor Sentencing
|Degree||Jail Time||Maximum Fine|
|First Degree||Up to 180 days||$1,000|
|Second Degree||Up to 90 days||$750|
|Third Degree||Up to 60 days||$500|
|Fourth Degree||Up to 30 days||$250|
Common Pleas Courts only handle felony cases. In Ohio, an F5 is the least severe felony charge and an F1 is the most severe. The penalties (prison, fine etc.) increase by the degree of felony you are charged with.
Municipal Courts only handle misdemeanor cases. In Ohio, a minor misdemeanor is the least severe misdemeanor charge and a First Degree Misdemeanor is the most severe. The penalties (jail, fine etc.) increase by the degree of misdemeanor.