Simply enter in your phone number to be instantly connected to someone in our office who can answer your questions.
Call today at
You will be charged with carrying a concealed weapon when carrying and concealing any of the following without a license:
If you have a carry and conceal license, you may be charged if you did one of the following while stopped by a police officer:
Nearly every day in central Ohio people are charged with carrying a concealed weapon. Depending on the severity of the allegations, carrying a concealed weapons charge can range from a minor misdemeanor, punishable by up to a $150 fine to a fourth degree felony punishable by up to 18 months in prison.
If you are convicted of carrying a concealed weapon, additional potential issues include:
Simply put, if you are convicted of carrying a concealed weapon, it can potentially be on your criminal background for the rest of your life. No matter what the circumstances were in your case, you rightly or wrongly run the risk of being considered someone who is violent. Therefore, it is critical that you give your carrying a concealed weapon charge the level of importance it deserves.
The Columbus Criminal Defense team takes an aggressive and comprehensive approach when representing clients charged with carrying a concealed weapon. First and foremost, we will figure out what mistakes the police or detectives made during their investigation, whether your arrest was lawful, if there were any problems in the collection, storage or testing of the weapon and any other legal issues that can be raised on your behalf.
We do this by requesting discovery from the prosecutor. The discovery will generally consist of police reports, additional investigative notes, lab reports and potentially video or audio. As our client, you will receive a copy of everything received from the prosecutor for your review
Based on the legal weaknesses in the State of Ohio’s case and any other mitigating factors, we will negotiate the best possible plea available with the prosecutor for you to consider in resolving your case.
If your case cannot be resolved satisfactorily with a plea, it would then proceed to a motion hearing (a hearing where the judge issues a ruling on an evidentiary issue) or a trial to the judge or jury, depending on the circumstances.
For nearly ten years, the Columbus Criminal Defense team has successfully represented clients charged with carrying a concealed weapon. That extensive previous experience will enable us to better help you.
If you’ve been charged with carrying a concealed weapon, it’s important to know what you’re up against. If you have any questions left unanswered by this page, or if you need a competent, experienced criminal defense attorney to fight for you in court, please contact us at or via email at firstname.lastname@example.org.
This is a felony of the fourth degree and carries the following penalties:
This is a felony of the third degree and carries the following penalties:
If you present your license within 10 days, yet you were carrying a concealed weapon somewhere forbidden by the license, it’s a minor misdemeanor and carries a fine of no more than $150.If the circumstances were the same except you presented your license within 45 days, the fine will be $500.
If the officer did know you had a license, it’s a minor misdemeanor and carries a fine of no more than $150.