Free Consultation / 24 Hours a Day - (614) 500-3836

Practice Areas

Gross Sexual Imposition

Have You Been Accused of Gross Sexual Imposition? Call LHA. Free Consults: (614) 500-3836.

Gross sexual imposition is a serious accusation with harsh penalties. If you are arrested or even questioned in regards to a sex crime in Columbus, you must take it just as seriously and work with an experienced sex crime lawyer. By contacting Luftman, Heck & Associates early, you can improve your situation, protect yourself, and fight to have the case dismissed or reduced.

Call (614) 500-3836 24/7 for a free and confidential consultation with a dedicated gross sexual imposition lawyer in Columbus, Ohio.

Gross Sexual Imposition Charges

To be charged with gross sexual imposition, you must allegedly have had sexual contact with a person (not your spouse), cause them to have it with you, or caused two other people to have sexual contact when any of the following applies:

  • You tried to get the other person or one of the other people to submit by force or threat of force
  • To prevent resistance, you gave the other person or one of the other people drugs or alcohol without their consent
  • The other person or one of the other people are significantly impaired by a drug given to them for surgery or other medical/dental reason
  • The other person or one of the other people are under 13, whether or not you knew
  • The other person or one of the other people has a mental or physical condition or is old enough that they couldn’t resist or consent

How is Gross Sexual Imposition Charged?

Depending on the severity of the allegations, gross sexual impositions can be charged as a fourth-degree felony, punishable by up to 18 months in prison to a third-degree felony, punishable by up to 36 months in prison.

Gross Sexual Imposition: Sex Offender Registration

If you are convicted of gross sexual imposition in Ohio, you will also be classified as a sex offender.

Sex offender classification in Ohio is a tiered system, based on its severity.

Tier I
Required registration as a sex offender every year for 15 years (10 if you were a minor when the offense was committed); no community notification required
Tier II
Required registration as a sex offender every 180 days for 25 years (20 if you were a minor when the offense was committed); no community notification required
Tier III
Required registration as a sex offender every 90 days; community notification of sex offender status

Simply put, if convicted of gross sexual imposition, it will be on your criminal background for the rest of your life. Therefore, it is critical that you give the charge the level of importance it deserves.

How LHA Helps When You’re Charged with Gross Sexual Imposition

At LHA, we take an aggressive and comprehensive approach for clients charged with gross sexual imposition. First and foremost, we will figure out if the charges are false, what mistakes the police made during their investigation, whether your arrest was lawful, and if there were any problems in the collection, storage or testing of evidence that can be raised on your behalf.

We do this by requesting discovery from the prosecutor and conducting our own investigation. The discovery will generally consist of police reports, additional investigative notes, lab reports, and potentially video or audio.

Our investigation consists of interviewing all the witnesses and potentially hiring a private detective or forensic expert.  As our client, you will receive a copy of everything received from the prosecutor and our investigation for your review.

Based on the legal weaknesses in the case and any other factors that we uncover, we will negotiate for the best possible result, which could mean a complete dismissal of the charges or a favorable plea.

If your case cannot be resolved this way, we’ll proceed to a motion hearing (a hearing where the judge issues a ruling on an evidentiary issue) or a trial to the judge or jury, depending on the circumstances.

For nearly ten years, LHA has successfully represented clients charged with sexual offenses from minor misdemeanors to first-degree felonies. That level of extensive previous experience and history of positive results lets us better help you.

Are you in trouble? Contact us.

If you’ve been charged with a sex crime, like gross sexual imposition it’s important to know what you’re up against. If you have questions or if you need a competent, experienced sex crimes attorney to fight for you, please contact us at (614) 500-3836 or via email at [email protected].

Penalties

General penalties
This is a felony of the fourth degree and carries the following penalties:

  • A prison sentence of up to 18 months
  • A fine of up to $5,000
  • Required registration as a sex offender every year for 15 years (10 if you were a minor when the offense was committed); no community notification required
You gave the victim a controlled substance to impair their judgment or control
This is a felony of the third degree and carries the following penalties:

  • A prison term of nine months to three years
  • A fine of $5,000 to $10,000
  • Required registration as a sex offender every year for 15 years (10 if you were a minor when the offense was committed); no community notification required
The victim was younger than 13
This is a felony of the third degree and carries the following penalties:

  • A prison term of nine months to three years
    • In its place, your judge may sentence you to probation or other community control punishments
    • If there is corroborating evidence or you have a prior offense similar to or the same as this, the prison sentence will be mandatory
  • A fine of $5,000 to $10,000
  • Required registration as a sex offender every 180 days for 25 years (20 if you were a minor when the offense was committed); no community notification required

Frequently Asked Questions

What if they gave verbal consent?
In some cases, verbal consent on its own isn’t enough. It’s not a valid defense in cases involving minors under the age of 13, an intoxicated person or a person who couldn’t resist because of mental or physical disabilities or old age. It’s also invalid if the person gave verbal consent under threat of force.
What if the person didn't resist?
According to Ohio law, physical resistance isn’t necessary to press charges against someone else.
Will the victim's sexual history or reputation be considered?
The victim’s sexual history or reputation may be used as evidence in a case, but only as it pertains to the origin of semen, pregnancy or disease or that person’s sexual history with you. Even then, it may only be used as long as “its inflammatory or prejudicial nature doesn’t outweigh its probative value,” meaning it’s meant to support a fact in the case and not merely prove a point of view.

Resources

★★★★★
I can FINALLY breathe easy now. I want to thank Mr. Bowen and all the attorneys that helped me with this case.

Read Our Reviews