Simply enter in your phone number to be instantly connected to someone in our office who can answer your questions.
Call today at
If you have been convicted of a sexual offense in the state of Ohio, then you are required to follow the laws governing Ohio sex offender registration. Current law designates three levels of registration for convicted sex offenders: Tier I, Tier II, and Tier III. The Tier level assigned to an individual corresponds to that person’s conviction.
A convicted adult must register with local Sex Offender Registration and Notification (SORN) unit. Juvenile offenders are subject to a separate set of laws called the Public Registry-Qualified Juvenile Offender Registry (PRQJOR).
Are you currently facing a sex crime charge in the state of Ohio? If so, your best course of action is to hire a skilled Columbus sex crimes attorney to defend you vigorously. The legal team at Luftman, Heck & Associates knows what is at stake for you and your future. We can evaluate your best options, and through intelligent and assertive representation fight for the best possible outcome in your case.
Contact us today at for a free consultation.
Two categories of sex offenders in the state of Ohio must register with SORN:
After categorization as a sex offender or child-victim offender, the individual is then classified into one of three sex crime offense tiers. Each of these Tiers carries with it a particular Ohio sex offender registration requirement described below.
Offenders classified under Tier 1 are required to register every 12 months over a period of 15 years. The offender may petition the court for removal after 10 years. Juveniles under this Tier must register every year over a period of 10 years, unless the Juvenile Court rules otherwise. Tier 1 offenders are not subject to community or neighborhood notification requirements.
The types of convictions that fall under a Tier 1 classification include:
Offenders designated under Tier 2 must register every 180 days (six months) over a span of 25 years. Juveniles are required to register for 20 years, unless changed by the Juvenile Court. Individuals under Tier 2 are not subject to community notification requirements.
The types of convictions that fall under a Tier 2 classification include:
Offenders categorized under Tier 3 are required to register every 90 days for the rest of their lives. Each time the offender moves to a new neighborhood or community, that locality will receive notification of the offender’s status. This includes all residents of the area who live within 1,000 feet of the offender’s official residence. However, the court has discretion to void this requirement.
The types of convictions that fall under a Tier 3 classification include:
Adult offenders are required to register their home, work, and school addresses with the Court. Registration should be made with the Court/Sheriff within three days of entering the county in which an offender plans to live or reside. They must also notify the local Sheriff’s Office of any travel they make across state lines for work or school. When offenders register, they must provide all required information to the local sheriff’s office, including vehicle information, email addresses, etc.
Offenders in all tier level classifications will be included in Ohio’s Electronic Sex Offender Registration and Notification online database. This database is accessible to any person who wishes to look up an offender online.
The consequences of a sexual offense conviction and the subsequent Ohio sex offender registration requirements involved are serious matters. If you are facing a pending or existing sex crimes charge, allow our team at Luftman, Heck & Associates to provide you with the legal counsel and vigorous defense you need during this trying time. We will fight on your behalf to reduce or eliminate these consequences as much as possible.
Request a free consultation online today or call us at .