Home » Columbus Driving Under Suspension Lawyers » BMV Payment Plans for Suspended Ohio Driver’s LicensesPractice Areas
BMV Payment Plans for Suspended Ohio Driver’s Licenses
The right to drive will allow you to transport yourself to work, school, family gatherings, and other important events that are essential for a high quality of life. Fortunately, by meeting certain requirements and paying a reinstatement fee you can get your driver’s license reinstated and drive again after your suspension period has passed. If you qualify for payment plans for a suspended Ohio drivers license, you can have your driving privileges back while you pay your reinstatement fee at a minimum rate of $50 per month.
Whether you had your Ohio driver’s license suspended because you failed to pay child support, refused to provide breath, blood, or urine samples for drug and alcohol testing during an arrest, failed to provide proof of insurance, or were driving under the influence, you are likely hopeful you will be able to drive again at some point.
To learn more about payment plans for a suspended Ohio driver’s license, contact our Columbus defense attorneys right away. We can evaluate your case and determine if you are eligible for reinstatement. Contact us today at (614) 500-3836 to set up a free, no-obligation consultation.
Reinstating a Suspended Ohio License
The reason for your driver’s license suspension will determine the reinstatement requirements you will need to meet. However, you will likely need to wait out the duration of your suspension and fulfill court fines or requirements.
In addition, you may be required to complete a remedial driving course or retake and pass the driving knowledge and skills tests. You must also file and maintain SR22 insurance for three to five years for non-compliance suspensions along with paying your reinstatement fee.
Reinstatement Fees Costs
Your BMV reinstatement fee will also be dependent on the reason for your driver’s license suspension. If your license was suspended because of a DUI/DWI conviction or BAC test refusal, your reinstatement fee will be $475. For violating insurance laws, you may have to pay anywhere between $100 and $600.
In the event you received a minor traffic violation, failed to appear in court, or faced a child support suspension, you will have to pay a $25 fee. On the other hand, if accumulating too many driving record points led to your suspension, you must pay a $40 reinstatement fee.
Payment Plan Eligibility Requirements
The repayment plan program began in July 2013 and was designed to assist drivers who are not considered dangerous and cannot afford to get their licenses reinstated in one payment. Although the court has no legal obligation to grant you a payment plan eligibility to pay your reinstatement fee, they may consider it if you meet the following eligibility requirements:
- You owe a minimum of $150 in reinstatement fees.
- Prior to submitting your application, you have met all other reinstatement requirements.
- You can show current proof of insurance.
- You are not under a payment plan ordered by the court.
- You are not considered a violent driver.
- You have no pending suspensions against you that will take effect in the future.
How to Enroll in a Payment Plan
If you meet all of the eligibility requirements for suspended driver’s license payment plans, you may apply for one. In order to do so, you must complete a BMV Payment Plan Application and submit current proof of insurance along with an initial $50 payment.
Keep in mind that the $50 will be applied to your BMV suspension fees regardless of whether your application gets approved or denied. You can submit your application, proof of insurance, and $50 payment to a nearby reinstatement center or deputy registrar license agency or by mail to the Ohio BMV. The BMV will notify you through a letter in the mail of whether or not you were accepted.
Reinstatement Payment Plan Rules and Regulations
If you are accepted for a suspended driver’s license payment plan and make the minimum payment of $50 in person, by mail, or online every 30 days, you’ll legally be allowed to drive. While you are welcome to make payments as often as you’d like, your next payment will be due within 30 days of your last payment regardless of how often you’ve made payments in the past.
Since the BMV will not send you any payment reminders or bills, you will be responsible for remembering when to make your payments. If you choose to make payments via mail, they will be considered paid on the date they are received.
Missing a monthly payment will result in a temporarily inactive plan and mark your license with the Failure to Reinstate status. The Failure to Reinstate status means that your license is suspended again and you are no longer legally permitted to drive.
If you are caught driving with failure to reinstate on your license, you may face jail time, a towed vehicle, and a longer driver’s license suspension.
Call Our Columbus License Reinstatement Attorneys for Help
If you would like information about payment plans for a suspended license or need assistance applying for a payment plan so that you can afford to reinstate your Ohio driver’s license, reach out to the Columbus lawyers with Luftman, Heck & Associates today. During our free case assessment, we can determine if you are eligible for a payment plan and can help you navigate the process in order to get the best plan possible for you. If you are in need of legal assistance, contact the Columbus criminal defense attorneys at Luftman, Heck & Associates today.