License Suspension for Failure to Display in Columbus
Did you get a ticket for failing to display your license? Call the Columbus traffic ticket lawyers at (614) 500-3836 for a free consultation.
When you have been pulled over or involved in an accident, tensions can rise and you might not want to cooperate on principle. Depending on the circumstances, you may be charged with failure to display license or proof of license. While an Ohio driver’s license suspension for failure to display offense does not carry any points on your driving record, you can face fines and community service for this charge. (A third failure to display license or proof of license offense within three years is a misdemeanor of the first degree and may involve jail time if convicted.)
Ohio Revised Code 4507.35 states that you must display your driver’s license or proof that you have a driver’s license upon a law enforcement officer’s request. A person damaged or injured in a collision that you may have been involved in can also request to see your license or proof of your license.
If you do not provide satisfactory proof that you have a valid operator’s license, this is considered to be prima facie evidence (accepted as true until proved otherwise) that you have not obtained a driver’s license.
|1st or 2nd
Within 3 Years
|0-500 hours C.S.||$0-1000||No||No||No||No|
in 3 Years
* C.S. denotes community service. If not specified, it refers to jail time.
If you have been charged with driving under suspension or have been cited for failure to display your Ohio drivers license, you’re probably wondering what your options are. Contact the Columbus driving under suspension lawyers at LHA today. The team at Luftman, Heck & Associates has years of experience handling these types of cases and fighting for optimal outcomes for our clients. Call a Columbus criminal defense lawyer today for a free consultation. To contact us, call us at (614) 500-3836 or email us via firstname.lastname@example.org.